WARNING: Intentionally terrible analogy ahead

Winter is coming to an end, and like ornithologists awaiting the return of the first robin, audiophiles across the city of Toronto are awaiting the return of great concerts.  Winter always brings with it a bit of a lull in the live music scene in Toronto (who in their right mind would schedule a winter tour in Canada?), but the upshot is that spring brings with it an abundance of great concerts.  I’m excited about five in particular which I already have tickets lined up for.  I’ll post each one separately, purely to increase my post count and make me look more prolific.

#1: Muse w/ Silversun Pickups (March 8th @ the ACC)

I know that this pick may be a bit “mainstream” for some of you, but that doesn’t take away from their ability to just rock the f@#$ out (trying to keep this blog PG-13).  Muse has a reputation for being one of the best currently touring live acts, and I’ve got to tell you, it’s well deserved.  I saw them last at Royal Albert Hall in London in early 2008 after buying scalped tickets on a relative whim, and it ranks in my top 5 concerts ever seen.  Matthew Bellamy has absolutely astounding stage presence.  He played much of the RAH show in seeming rapture, kneeling or lying on the ground, playing the guitar behind his head, et cetera, et cetera.  The addition of church organs, giant balloons, and an audio-chromatic piano made the show absolutely fantastic.  I can’t wait to see what they bring out this time.

Oh, and Silversun Pickups aren’t too shabby either.

The concert will hopefully be something like this (although less pixelated in person, I imagine).  Best part is the sound explosion starting at 1:30.

