‘When My Time Comes’ by Dawes has really grown on me over the last few weeks.  The twangy, alt-country feel of the song and the singable chorus appealed to me from the beginning, but it wasn’t until I really started paying attention to the lyrics that I started loving the song.  They seem to roll off the tongue in such a deliberate way that I can’t help but think that they wrote a poem and then composed music to accompany it, in stark contrast to so many popular songs where the lyrics seem like a complete afterthought.

Case in point:

And now the only piece of advice that continues to help:
Is anyone that’s making anything new only breaks something else.

or

Oh you can judge the whole world on the sparkle that you think it lacks
Yes, you can stare into the abyss, but it’s staring right back.

versus:

What you gon’ do with all that junk?
All that junk inside your trunk?
I’ma get, get, get, get, you drunk,
Get you love drunk off my hump.

Okay, that was an admittedly low bar, but I think my point still stands.

[mp3] Dawes – When My Time Comes

