While thinking about how to describe Blastoids, I referred back to the blog where I heard about them (shout out to I Guess I’m Floating), and came across a description there which is so vivid that I cannot get the image out of my head.  The description?  “It’s like being an astronaut on psychedelics sliding down a rainbow.”

Try as I might to find some other description, I just can’t – it’s dead on.  Believe me, I tried.  A… fireman on cocaine falling down a glacier?  Nope.  A… politician on speed falling a slide?  Nope.  An… actuary on ecstasy falling down the stairs?  Definitely not.  It HAS to be an astronaut on psychedelics sliding down a rainbow – that is exactly what it sounds like.

The band has offered their debut LP free for download, but be warned, it’s pretty damn experimental and out there – not for the faint of heart.  Below are some songs which ease into the craziness a bit:

[mp3] Blastoids Morning Light
[mp3] Blastoids Kids and Candy

