I haven’t heard too much from Wakey!Wakey! but what I have heard has been amazing enough to warrant a post here (high bar, I know).  Wakey!Wakey! have a few things going for them – exciting, carefree, upbeat songs backed by piano, an assortment of other instruments, and fun backup vocals.  Oh, and an amazing name for a band.

‘Twenty-Two’ is off of their first full-length album entitled ‘Almost Everything I Wish I’d Said The Last Time I Saw You…’, released in February 2010.  It’s has a light, carefree start with some great whistling, some great lyrics, and combines with the deep groove of the chorus to form a really catchy song.  Also, as far as I can tell, it’s about alcoholism (?), which would make it the second most fun song about alcoholism ever (Weezer still holds top spots for pure shoutability).

[mp3] Wakey!Wakey!Twenty-Two

Also, they have an amazing cover of Ambling Alp by Yeasayer (profiled earlier) where all the synth pieces are done with instruments – so so so good.

