Before I talk about Dead Man’s Bones, I’ve got to take a second to add one in the win column for technology.  I never would have heard of Dead Man’s Bones if Last.fm hadn’t aggregated all of my music listening habits and known that because I like Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, Local Natives, Yeasayer and Fanfarlo, that, hey, maybe I’d like this band that I’d never heard of – and guess what, they were dead on.  Impressive stuff.

Anyways, about the band – they’re from L.A., and the more Hollywood-savvy amongst you may be interested to know that Ryan Gosling is one of the founding members.  Their self-titled debut album came out late last year, and is a collaboration with the Silverlake Conservatory Children’s Choir.  I don’t mean one or two songs either – every song on the album features the choir, which is pretty interesting and unusual – although it begs the question of what the setup is for their live shows, and whether they will incorporate another choir for album #2.  ‘My Body’s a Zombie for You’ utilizes the choir to its full effect, making what is, at its core, a moody and dark song, into a fun sing-a-long that seems to beg listeners to link arms in a giant circle, sway to the rhythm and belt out the chorus.  Great stuff.

[mp3] Dead Man’s Bones – My Body’s A Zombie For You

