From Urban Dictionary:

Throwback – A sudden reminder of the past. This can be brought about by hearing a song from high school, seeing an ex, puffing on a j in your old puffin spot, etc. Similar to a flashback.

Given that definition, the following just seems really appropriate.  I remember the exact context of when I saw the Weezer ‘Buddy Holly’ video – it shipped with Windows 95 and was meant to showcase the impressive abilities of Windows Media Player.  At the age of 11, my interest in this video was eclipsed only by an awesome 3D hovercraft game where you shot at other hovercraft within a giant maze.  However, while 15 years later that hovercraft game is almost certainly terrible, this video has still retained its charms.  PLUS, the video itself is a throwback to the TV show ‘Happy Days’, which ITSELF is a throwback to an idealized vision of life in mid 1950s to mid 1960s Amer-oh no, I’ve gone cross-eyed.  (+1 for Austin Powers reference)

UPDATE: You can actually download the aforementioned hovercraft game here.  I’m not going to though, for fear of ruining my childhood memories.

Yesterday: Wee-mix Wednesday
Tomorrow:
Philharmonic Friday!

