On the final day of Alliteration Week, we’re going to take it down a notch and give some appreciation to the sweet and simple melodies of a couple of singer-songwriters.

I’ve decided to post two of my favourites – the first is London, Ontario’s Basia Bulat.  I’ve really enjoyed everything I’ve heard from her newest album, ‘Heart Of My Own’, released in January of this year and have decided to share the title track from that release.  It’s extremely passionate and captivating like other material from Basia and also manages to add in a bit of the bluegrassy banjo twang that seems omnipresent these days.

[mp3] Basia Bulat – Heart of My Own

I’m actually not that familiar with Ingrid Michaelson, but I immediately fell in love with “You and I” the first time I heard it.  It’s an immensely sweet song that will soften the heart of the toughest listener – the lyrics are heartwarming, and I absolutely love when the chorus reaches its hand-clapping conclusion.  If I was going to learn to play the ukulele, this would clearly be the first song I would pick up.

[mp3] Ingrid Michaelson – You and I

Yesterday: Soundtrack Saturday
Tomorrow:
A week with significantly fewer alliterations : (

