So today I found myself caught in a YouTube vortex.  You know the drill – you decide to kill a few minutes by watching the latest baby/cat/grown man do something funny/stupid/heartwarming, and next thing you know it’s 30 minutes later and you’re inexplicably watching a video of a baby in a diaper dancing to Beyonce.  Don’t pretend this has never happened to you.

Anyways, as I was saying, I was caught in a YouTube vortex.  However, this time I had the fortune to stumble across a video of the Muppets doing their usual awesome muppet-y things and suddenly I remembered all of the amazing musical numbers that the Muppets have done over the years.  And then my brain clicked on: “Wait, don’t I have a blog where I type words about awesome musical things that I find to my vast audience of tens of… tens of… people?”

Well brain, you’ve done it again – below are some of my favourite Muppet-themed music videos.  Frankly it was pretty tough to whittle it down to such a small list, which creates the very tangible possibility of a “Many More Marvelous Musical Muppets” post in the future.

1. The Original

If I was forced to describe this video to someone and explain why it was funny, I’m pretty sure I would fail miserably.  I mean, there are these alien things, and then a hairy jazz guy with sunglasses who just says “Mahna Mahna” over and over again – really that’s all there is to it.  But it’s somehow pure comedic genius.

2. The spot-on remake

The attention to detail here is really impressive.  For best effect, compare this video to the actual Bohemian Rhapsody video by Queen.  It’s all there, from the fade in from black at the beginning, to the silhouette’d hands on the hips, to Gonzo’s remarkable resemblance to Freddie Mercury (okay that last one is a stretch).  As an added bonus, the number of characters in this means that you’re sure to see some more minor Muppet characters you thought you had forgotten.

3. The festive gem

I’m not sure if this was done on purpose, but the choice to pick the three most unintelligible Muppet characters to play Irishmen on St. Patrick’s day is really, really fitting.  Also, we get a quip from the old guys on the balcony – so awesome.

4. The actual song

Okay, so strictly speaking, this isn’t really a Muppet song, but was too good not to include.  The LCD Soundsystem song playing (“New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down”) is one of my favourites, and after watching Kermit sing the entire song, I can’t imagine the song being written for any other performer.  Also, the mystery puppeteer at the end is pretty cool.

I’ll conclude by misquoting Statler and Waldorf (the old guys in the balcony):
“What was that?”
“It’s called the medium [post]!”
“The medium [post]?”
“Yeah, it wasn’t rare, and it certainly wasn’t well done!”

