One thing the consulting industry is often criticized for (and sometimes rightly so, I can say as a former consultant) is the tendency to apply a “one size fits all” solution to clients.  Which leads me to wonder – are Yeasayer and MGMT using music video consultants?  I mean, within a week of each other, each releases a music video chronicling the last hours of a weird, creepy, animal/monster hybrid as its main focus.

It’s as if there is some music video consultant out there saying,  “You know what’s hot right now?  Disgusting fleshy quasi-animals dying.  Trust me on this one – I’ll make you a star.”  If my theory holds, LCD Soundsystem and Ra Ra Riot both release music videos within the next month featuring the unholy love child of an emu and Krang from Teenage Mutant  Ninja Turtles.  Wait for it…

