I almost didn’t bother posting this because I’m so inexcusably late on this one, but I’d be remiss to not give one of the best albums of the year it’s due.  I downloaded Girl Talk’s latest, “All Day”, the day it came out, and proceeded to, as the title implies, play it all day.  I’m about 10-15 times through the album now, and am still loving it.  While I haven’t noticed any absolute standouts, it’s only because almost every song on the album is equally good.  That being said, I am a sucker for “This Is the Remix” – it’s basically impossible not to love the Jackson 5 hook at the one-minute mark, and then when you think you’ve heard the best part of the song, the “Cecilia”/”Sunday Bloody Sunday” mix absolutely blows your mind.  Also of note is “Triple Double”, featuring Phoenix’s “1901” and The Rolling Stones’ “Paint It Black” as backing tracks.

Anyway, the album is definitely meant to be listened to straight through (and is available free in its entirety), so get it here.  Also, for some more info on the component songs, check out the SoundCloud track which includes a listing of all samples used.

